The dog without a bone and the School of Wisdom and Wizardry

One never knows, in the life lived consciously in the Unfolding of the Tree of Life, what will unfold and bud next. Flashes, images, come out of the blue (for me that’s how it usually happens) and  you see or glimpse something so big yet familiar that you can’t help believing it, outrageous though it might seem in more common hours.

That, I think, is when the inner or higher self is getting a word in, and we are remembering what we came here for. Scary but nice, because it feels right, almost like coming home and finding that you are expected, after thinking one is a beggar and a vagabond in this life, ‘like a dog without a bone’ as the Doors say. But try explaining this to your lower self who has to pay the power bill!

So, to illustrate: at the Wow gathering and several times afterwards, in spite of the fog of pain caused by bad tooth karma (sugar has its price – you pay long-term more and more, and in the end perhaps with your life), I got that the ‘One Thing’ that I came into this life for was to explore and articulate the perennial wisdom of life, and in word artefact and deed,  communicate it to others. To teach them how to be the true ‘wizards’ of their lives, find their ‘Staff’, the vertical axis, the Centre around which all the seeming magic can unfold, of meaningful action and creation in the world.

I have done a lot of the exploration (5 years of ‘official’ philosophy plus a lifetime of thinking and experiencing). I have also got a bit of the ‘artefact’ aspect done, with eutopia and carvings and medallions, and more recently the tree of life table and staff – or nearly done.

But I have sadly neglected the core things – the word and interpersonal deed.

Several times the vision of a school of some sort has emerged like a ruin in reverse from the unconscious where I apparently buried it for safekeeping. This time I am listening. Losing three teeth and being 57 can get your attention. They (C.S.Lewis and other theists) say that pain is God’s megaphone. I am now listening.

I will post again, this time about the vision I have seen of the School of Wisdom and wizardry (working title). Meanwhile, watch this space. More importantly, watch your own inner space, for omens and whisperings, visions of a ruin in reverse, rising out of the clutter of your common hours, the piles of bills, the mortgages and the credit card demands, and the endless ‘duties’ that conveniently distract you. What did you come here for? ‘Here’ being this body, this time and space, this theatre, this play. What is your script and part in the play? Clear away those bills and you might just find it. I dare you! (Speaking to myself of course.)

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under How to be a Wizard, Purpose in life - the Mainspring, School of Philosophy, School of wisdom and wizardry, Tree of Life and the Five zones, wisdom mindmaps

2 responses to “The dog without a bone and the School of Wisdom and Wizardry

  1. As a fellow fifty-seven-year-old who shares your awareness that affection for sugar carries a dental price, I was pleased to see your reference to Lewis’ megaphone metaphor. Although you may be content as an angsty agnostic, I would echo his desire that you return ultimately to the faith you once held.

    • Greetings! Thanks for your incisive (biting!) comments. You share my love for CSL, and respect too! I feel I have never really left the core of that faith, though I have dropped the exclusivity clauses – and the ‘theo-sexism’ and the horrid hellfire and damnation of course!

      Remember CSL’s reflection on the psalms (was it there?) where he said that only a net no less fine than our whole intellect and no less wide than our whole heart, can catch the divine Fish (of truth in the scriptures)? (I googled this but came up empty, though i found whole pages of inspiring, though christian, quotes from CSL!) Well, perhaps when we go fishing for God, we may like Peter, catch ‘many great fish’, and S/He is to be found in the silver of their scales and the mystery of their eyes.

      As for angst, that has receded. Life, and God, are what they are, and no doubt more wonderful than I can understand. So I rest in faith, just as (you must admit) the Christian must, in the face of all the suffering he sees or experiences… Well, like CSL, I am ‘surprised by joy’ in lots of things my ‘net’ drags up, and thankful for the reassurance those moments bring. ‘All joy wills eternity, deep, deep, deep eternity’. (Thus Spoke zarathustra.)
      But as for a return to the exclusivity of the christian faith, it seems to go against if not all, then most of what i (so far) know or hold as reasonable.

      As for the Core, that is most worth exploring, expounding and teaching when the time is right. Hence the School. I don’t rush in where angels fear to tread, but in reverence for the mystery, so I would not teach one thing which does violence to reason, or goodness, or love. My guide is the four divine platitudes – Love, Beauty, Truth, and Freedom. Yet i do not fear, as i have a clear conscience. If biblical christianity turns out to be true, i would claim the ‘righteous heathen’ clause as aslan put it to Emeth in the Last Battle (this brought tears to my eyes as i read it in the google search just now):

      “So I went over much grass and many flowers and among all kinds of wholesome and delectable trees till lo! in a narrow place between two rocks there came to meet me a great Lion. The speed of him was like the ostrich, and his size as an elephant’s; his hair was like pure gold and the brightness of his eyes like gold that is liquid in the furnace. He was more terrible than the Flaming Mountain of Lagour, and in beauty he surpassed all that is in the world even as the rose in bloom surpasses the dust of the desert.Then I fell at his feet and thought, Surely this is the hour of death, for the Lion (who is worthy of all honour) will know that I have served Tash all my days and not him. Nevertheless, it is better to see the Lion and die than to be Tisroc of the world and live and not to have seen him. But the Glorious One bent down his golden head and touched my forehead with his tongue and said, Son, thou art welcome. But I said, Alas Lord, I am no son of thine but the servant of Tash. He answered, Child, all the service thou hast done to Tash, I account as service done to me. Then by reasons of my great desire for wisdom and understanding, I overcame my fear and questioned the Glorious One and said, Lord, is it then true, as the Ape said, that thou and Tash are one? The Lion growled so that the earth shook (but his wrath was not against me) and said, It is false. Not because he and I are one, but because we are opposites, I take to me the services which thou hast done to him. For I and he are of such different kinds that no service which is vile can be done to me, and none which is not vile can be done to him. Therefore if any man swear by Tash and keep his oath for the oath’s sake, it is by me that he has truly sworn, though he know it not, and it is I who reward him. And if any man do a cruelty in my name, then, though he says the name Aslan, it is Tash whom he serves and by Tash his deed is accepted. Dost thou understand, Child? I said, Lord, though knowest how much I understand. But I said also (for the truth constrained me), Yet I have been seeking Tash all my days. Beloved, said the Glorious One, unless they desire had been for me thou wouldst not have sought so long and so truly. For all find what the truly seek.

      “Then he breathed upon me and took away the trembling from my limbs and caused me to stand upon my feet. And after that, he said not much, but that we should meet again, and I must go further up and further in. Then he turned him about in a storm and flurry of gold and was gone suddenly.

      “And since then, O Kings and Ladies, I have been wandering to find him and my happiness is so great that it even weakens me like a wound. And this is the marvel of marvels, that he called me Beloved, me who am but as a dog-”

      I would be honoured if you continued to follow my blog and comment as you will. Iron sharpens iron!

Leave a Reply ( no need to enter your email)

